Yellow Chrysanthemum

‘These are for you,’ he said, thrusting [the bunch of chyrsanthemums] at me. I saw that the stems had been broken very roughly and that they were not tied together at all. 

‘Are they out of your garden?’ I asked 

‘Yes; I snatched them as I was hurrying for the train.’

Somehow they seemed a little less desirable now. He had not chosen them, had not gone into a shop for that purpose, they had just happened to be there. If he had gone into a shop and chosen them… I pulled myself up and told myself to stop these ridiculous thoughts, wondering why it is that we can never stop trying to analyse the motives of people who have no personal interest in us, in the vain hope of finding that perhaps they may have just a little after all.”

– Barbara Pym, Excellent Women, 221

One Comment to “”

  1. I like!

    Sent from my iPad

    >

Leave a Reply

